The Department of Pathology held its 12th annual Research Celebration in the Hale Building for Transformative Medicine on April 6. A poster session showcased basic, clinical and translational research conducted in Pathology and in collaboration with other departments. 

The event also honored this year’s winners of the Thomas J. Gill III, MD, and Simon Simonian, MD, ScD, Prize for Research Excellence, which recognizes the accomplishments of young investigators and how their relationships with mentors have influenced their success. Previously awarded to one pair of recipients, this year the prize was given to four: Nikki Kong, PhD, and mentor Li Chai, MD; Michael Mina, MD, PhD, and mentor Stephen Elledge, PhD; David Papke Jr., PhD, and mentor George Mutter, MD; and Pascal Yazbeck, PhD, and mentor Tanya Mayadas, PhD.