Xiang (Vicky) Bai speaks with Jeffrey Golden, chair of the Department of Pathology, about her research during the poster session.

On April 7, the Department of Pathology hosted its 11th annual research celebration, which recognizes trainees and junior faculty for their basic, clinical and translational research.

Dozens of people gathered in the Building for Transformative Medicine to view the more than 30 research posters on display. The event continued with presentations by junior faculty and a reception and awards ceremony. Kelly Lohr, PhD, Inga-Marie Schaefer, MD, and Vignesh Shanmugam, MD, received Posters of Distinction Awards for their work.

From left: Shannon Coy, Michael Wu, Jeffrey Golden, Thomas Gill III, Sandro Santagata and Simon Simonian

Distinguished guests Thomas J. Gill III, MD, and Simon J. Simonian, MD, ScD, were in attendance to present the Thomas J. Gill III, MD, and Simon J. Simonian, MD, ScD, Prize for Research Excellence, which was awarded to resident Shannon Coy, MD, and his mentor Sandro Santagata, MD, PhD.

In addition, Michael Pei-hong Wu, a student in the Harvard-MIT Division of Health Sciences and Technology, who worked with Coy and Santagata, was also recognized.